My Habitual Levity (And Its Demise)

I read this tweet, from John Piper, a few weeks ago. And it stung.

Have you ever read a convicting Bible verse or been chided by a mentor, and it hit so hard and true that it hurt, so you just put it out of your mind? I did that with this tweet. I honestly thought, when I first read it, “Boy, B, you needed to hear that. You should put that on a Post-It and stick it to your mirror.”

And then I moved right down my news feed and forgot about it. Well, I tried to forget about it, anyway. God had other plans. (How often does that happen, right?)

Last night my husband and I were talking about Facebook. He has an account, but he’s not an avid user and most often when he logs on he’s so disgusted by what he sees that he logs off just as quickly. Me, on the other hand – I can lose hours on Face.

Now here’s my defense. I’ve clung to this line of reasoning since the beginning of MySpace.

Facebook is designed to do nothing more or less than what you’d do on a coffee date with a friend in real life. You’d share what’s happened in your day, you’d show off pictures if you had them, you’d laugh together over jokes you’d heard. When you interact with a local friend via Facebook, perhaps someone who you really do have coffee dates with, it’s really no different than talking on the phone, texting, or e-mailing. And when you interact with a friend who lives far away, it’s like having them for pen pals, minus the postage, which is convenient. Of course, when you don’t interact with friends on Facebook, but only ogle their pictures and absorb their day-to-day life because you feel like you need to know, well, that’s unhealthy. But I don’t do that.

Right?

So here’s  the deal, though. This is what I realized last night. If it’s no different than the phone or e-mails or writing letters: then why do I need it?

Here’s my biggest issue, personally, with Facebook: it sucks my day away. When someone posts something funny, I can’t help but follow the link, and the link is usually to a website which contains a lot more funny. Then I’m in the vortex and I usually don’t resurface for hours. Or perhaps someone uploaded a picture, but once I’ve seen that picture, I have to see the rest of them, too, even if I’ve looked at them all a hundred times already. And once I’ve checked my notifications, answered any messages and read my news feed, boredom usually compels me to sift through old posts and old conversations.

And if I don’t need Facebook in order to communicate with friends – which we’ve already established, I don’t – why do I expose myself to the temptation to waste all my time? With that time, I could clean the bathroom or read my Bible or sing a song to my son. In fact, I could probably do all three.

Facebook is my habitual levity. It’s my lack of seriousness, my disregard for what really matters in life.

(The biggest issue being that I ignore my Bible and prayer in favor of sifting through pictures I’ve seen already and jokes that I’ll forget by tomorrow morning.)

So, I’ve decided it’s time.

My household is more important.
My family is more important.
My God is more important.

Facebook is getting the axe.

1 Comment

Filed under Bible Talk

One response to “My Habitual Levity (And Its Demise)

  1. Pingback: Life in 3D | myfixedheart

Whatcha thinkin'?

