The Adventure of Homemade Stuff

It is not gross to never use shampoo.

Really, though! I have been shampoo free for a few weeks now, and so far I’m enjoying it. I wash with baking soda and then rinse with apple cider vinegar. I read about the concept on a few blogs and decided it was worth a shot. (The ones I kept going back to were at A Sonoma Garden and Simple Mom.)

Shampoo isn’t a make-it or break-it expense, of course. So, unlike cloth diapering, my reason for making the switch wasn’t my wallet. Rather, it had to do with knowing what’s going on my hair, and aiming to simplify my process (because, really, what’s the point of all those products?).

Well, I wound up in a vortex. I bet you’ve never thought of all the things in your bathroom that you could make yourself. I was shocked! Did you know you can make your own lotion? Chapstick? Toothpaste? Deodorant?

I’ve never thought twice about the ingredients in these products. They’re FDA approved, and that’s good enough for me. Did you know the active ingredient in antiperspirants is aluminum? I didn’t.

I don’t know anything about the pros and cons of rubbing aluminum in your armpits. (Although I sure am glad I found occasion to use that sentence.) That’s not my point. My point is, I was doing it for something like fifteen years without ever knowing what was in it. Maybe aluminum is perfectly safe – but I should know, shouldn’t I? Before I use the stuff?

And quite frankly, having recently tapped this mine of information about homemade toiletries, I’d rather give that a go than sit online doing research on aluminum and methyl parabens and cancer.

So here’s my breakdown. Sometime in the next several months, I will be making my own:

  • Toothpaste
  • Lotion
  • Chapstick
  • Deodorant
  • Exfoliating scrub (a necessity, on my skin)
  • Lavender astringent
  • Hair treatment
  • … and maybe more!
As I go, I’ll post my favorite recipes (mostly from other blogs) and reviews of how they worked for me.

1 Comment

Filed under Living Chartreuse

One response to “The Adventure of Homemade Stuff

  1. Awesome! Since changing my eating habits to eating mostly foods that are naturally produced on the earth I have become increasingly aware and concerned about what goes ON to by body and hair. I’ve done the baking soda washes for about a year now and I’ve thought about trying the acv rinses. It works for me and I have super thick, curly/coily, medium length hair. Also, if you’ve never heard about it you should read up on Coconut Oil. It is AMAZING externally on both the hair and skin. It has proven to be the best kept natural beauty secret for me! =) Great read!

Whatcha thinkin'?

