Because It’s Still On My Mind

I don’t have a large amount of things to say today. I was reading an old journal entry and came across this quote:

“I don’t know why, but God has been beating me over the head with this psalm now for almost two years, since the day I read it to my grandma on her deathbed.”

For serious, guys. My grandma Christine was one of the most beautiful women I’ve ever known, and I didn’t realize it while I had her. I wish I had something more original and inspiring to say, something besides “you don’t know what you have until it’s gone,” but there you are. Human condition, ya know?

Anyway, in June 2008 she was on her deathbed and I had a few moments when I could be alone with her. I tried to talk to her, but I didn’t know what to say. I had brought my Bible. I knew Grandma believed the Bible. So when I was at a loss for words, I let it fall open in my lap and I read:

Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth.
Worship the Lord with gladness;
come before Him with joyful songs.
Know that the Lord is God.
It is He who made us, and we are His;
We are His people, the sheep of His pasture.

Enter His gates with thanksgiving
and His courts with praise;
give thanks to Him and praise His name.
For the Lord is good and His love endures forever;
His faithfulness continues through all generations.

Psalm 100 

I have two things to add to that:
1. What on earth could I possibly ever add to that?, and
2. Man, do we not have the best God ever???

And then that psalm just cropped up constantly in my life, for months and months and months. And months! A friend would quote it to me. A line or two would be on a refrain in my head, the way a song gets stuck there, but with no provocation. Just when it had slipped my mind, my pastor preached a whole sermon just on this psalm and I sat in the third row crying.

Is there nothing more comforting to a godly woman on her deathbed? Or to a young woman watching her grandmother slip away into eternity?

I have to say it again: We have the best God ever!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chit Chat

One response to “Because It’s Still On My Mind

  1. That was beautiful!! I also got to say goodbye to my grandma as she was dying. It was such a blessing to be able to say goodbye. You are right we do have the best God ever!!!!!

Whatcha thinkin'?

