The Great Looming Stretch

I don’t know if this is a Brittani Thing or a Human Thing, but when I was little, I always really looked forward to being another year older. Birthdays were fun and everything, but that’s not what I mean. I mean, when I was four, nobody was cooler than a five-year-old. After I turned five, the idea of being six was just swell.

Well, now I’m 23, and the novelty has worn off (although, thankfully, dread of the next birthday hasn’t set in, either). But the feeling of anticipation never went anywhere.

When I was in elementary school, I wanted to be in middle school – middle school, high school; high school, college. When I was in college I looked forward to graduation.

When I was single, I wanted a boyfriend. When I had a boyfriend, I wanted to get married. After getting married, I wanted a kid.

… Does this cycle ever end?

Because here’s where I’m at now. I am a college graduate. I am married with a son. I am in the career (housewifin’ and mommyin’) which I intend to remain in for the foreseeable future. In school every assignment was one step closer to completion. Before “settling down,” moving forward was the focus of relationship. For the first time in my life I’m not working toward a change.

I picture myself in ten years, having lived in the same house with the same people and having done the same work for all that time with no real change on the horizon. Where does this usually lead? Mid-life crises, right? And that’s totally “normal.”

Only it’s not, guys. One of my favorite books of the Bible is Ecclesiastes, and once when I was reading it I noticed a recurring  theme. It’s said in a lot of different ways, but the summation of it is this:

There is nothing better for a man than to do his work and be content.
2:24; 3:12-13, 22; 5:18-20; 8:15; 9:7-10; 11:8-10

So here I am on the cusp of that great long stretch. I’m not bored right now – that would be ridiculous at my age – but I’m becoming aware of the reality of it. And maybe it’s hypocritical for me to even address the issue when I’m not in the thick of it yet, but even so, I have to remind myself to keep a proper, healthy, biblical attitude about what’s to come.

Maybe Something Big will happen; there’s no serious reason to think that it will. I hope to get a book published and I want to have another child and hopefully we’ll be buying our house soon, but put simply, here I am. Doing this. And I will continue to do this. For years. Hopefully, with a smile on my face.

And there’s nothing better for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chit Chat

Whatcha thinkin'?

